Episode 48 of 51 – Listen to the conversation with Dr. Momjian here.

It’s blue skies with a cool breeze this morning in the San Fernado Valley. I take the bus to Glendale and read a chapter out of Harvey Eisenstadt’s book. I’m early to meet my next guest, so I walk in to the lobby of the Hilton and park myself in front of the fire they’ve got going. I like Glendale, it’s clean and there are trees lining most streets.

I enter Urgent Care 9 and meet Dr. Manuel Momjian. A doctor doing things better for patients and doctors. For patients, Urgent Care 9 can do a lot of things hospitals can do and, for doctors, it’s allows them to practice the skills they originally learnt. Dr. Momjian says it’s not the most financially oriented approach to running an Urgent Care, but it’s right thing to do.

In Australia, if you need to make a claim, you can pay a little bit at the doctor and then claim from your insurance via an app, and it’s all sorted. That’s how it used to be in America before Obamacare, which incidentally has made insurance companies quite wealthy and made it near impossible for people to afford healthcare.

Dr. Momjian gave me a tour of his facility, it’s pretty much a small hospital. It’s got a Computerized Tomography Scanner! I wanted to have a go, but maybe that would be asking too much? We walked to a nearby cafe and recorded some audio about the uncanny way Manuel got accepted into Medical School.

Briefly, there was this Indian guy, Koo-raj at his undergrad campus who kept telling him (every few months for nearly 2 years) to apply for a course that prepares you for medical school.

On Manuel’s last day of college, Koo-raj came out of the campus library by surprise and had an application form for the prep course in his bag and the rest is history. So, Dr. Momjian got into medical by accident, he says.

As we were walking back from the cafe, a guy just comes up to Dr. Momjian and says, “You saved my life! I was having a heart attack and you saved me! Can I give you a hug?”

They hugged.

“This guy saved my life!” he said to me and was on his way. Dr. Momjian and I were crackin’ up laughing at how uncanny that moment was. He assured me he didn’t pay people to do that.

http://urgent9.com

About the Author: Samuel Osborne is an Australian Researcher, Educator and Public Speaker on Human Potential and Creativity. He lives in Los Angeles, California. http://samuelosborne.com.au

